Start main content

Student Affairs Committee

Terms of Reference

  1. To report or make recommendations to the Senate on policies and regulations relating to student organizations, activities, discipline, amenities, services and Hall life.
  2. To promote co-curricular and other activities which create an environment conducive to the Whole Person Education philosophy of the University.
  3. To receive reports from the Office of Student Affairs and make approval on matters relating to student affairs as recommended by the Director of Student Affairs.
  4. To appoint, when required, panels to deal with disciplinary matters in accordance with guidelines approved by the Senate, and to report the panels’ decisions to the Senate.
  5. To receive reports on matters related to scholarships, bursaries and loans.
  6. To submit an annual report to the Senate at the end of the academic year.

Membership Composition

Chairperson Members (2017-18)
    Vice-President (T & L)      Dr. Albert CHAU
    Director of Student Affairs      Prof. Gordan TANG
    Academic Registrar or his designate   
Prof Ricky WONG
    Chaplain or his designate Rev Dr. King Tak IP
    Five academics, at least two of whom should be Senate members Dr. Kwok Wai CHEUNG (COMP)
Ms. Angela NG (ARTS)
Prof. Petrus NG (SOSC)
Dr. Felix YIP (MGNT)
(until 31 Aug 2018)
Dr. Kevin YUE (SCM)
    One Resident Master  Prof. Victor WONG
    Two Student members of the Senate Mr. LEE Shing Hin
TO Hiu Yan
Miss WONG Tsz Kiu
(until 31 August 2018)
    Two other student representatives     
    One from Academic Societies and one from Interest Clubs 

Mr. LO Hei Yin (COMM)
(until 31 Aug 2018)
Miss TO Hiu Yan (AIESEC)
(until 31 Aug 2018)

    Assistant Directors of Student Affairs     
Mr. Tony CHAN
Ms. Wendy CHEUNG
Dr. Stephen MANN
Dr. Rosa TANG
    President of the Students’ Union  Mr.  LAU Tsz Kei
(until Feb 2018)
    Representative from the Hall Council Mr. TO Kwok Tou (Yang)
(until Dec 2017)