主内容開始

在中學階段,你會跟從排得滿滿的時間表上課,老師在學習上亦提供很多協助和指導。可是當你升上大學後,課堂相對減少,教授給予的指導亦不會像中學老師般照顧周到,你必需負起責任,並主動自覺地學習,才能豐富你的學習經驗。以下的基本步可以幫助你的大學學習有個好開始。

1. 認清自己的目標

問問自己,成為大學生後,你有什麼目標?你會如何按重要性把目標排次序?認清自己的目標有助你好好計劃你的大學生活,並在學習、社交、及各活動上作出適當的安排。
2. 認清大學的要求

不同大學和不同學系都會有不同的畢業要求。認清浸大和自己所讀學系的各項要求,有助你更易計劃在每個學期應修讀什麼課程。
3. 認清自己的責任

如果你想在大學有出色的學習表現,你必須主動地學習及有良好的自我管理能力。你可以利用日程表好好安排你各項工作的時間及先後次序。另外,你亦需要預留時間預習及閱讀參考資料,從而讓自己更有效地學習。培養良好的計劃和時間管理技巧,將有助你有滿意的學習表現。
4. 認清你的支援系統

你可以與同學組成溫習小組,這有助你在學習路途上得到更多啟發與支持,並可以交流讀書心得。你亦可以向學長請教有效的學習竅門。當你在學習上遇到困難,不妨向助教及教授尋求協助,你可以用電郵跟他們聯絡,表達你的困難,並約見討論。
5. 認清大學的資源

你可以利用大學的資源以幫助自己有效地學習。例如,熟習圖書館的資源可有助各科目的研習;熟習大學的環境及設施可有助營造合適的溫習環境;了解語文中心提供的課程可助你有需要時改善自己的語文能力;與自己系內的導師見面,以詢問有關學習建議或約見心理輔導主任探討有效的學習技巧。

另外,以下有一些有用的網上參考資料,可以幫助你更有效地學習:

  1. 擷取筆記重點
    I Know The Material, But When I Take The Test I Go Blank! – Kansas State University
    Study Strategies – Kansas State University
  2. 學習及應試技巧
    Note-taking – Darmouth College
  3. 專注力
    Improving Your Concentration – Kansas State University

Start main content

When you studied in secondary school, you followed a structured learning mode with much guidance and directions given by your teachers. When you study in university, you need to take the initiative and responsibility for enriching your learning experience with comparatively fewer classes and less guidance given by the professors. Here are some basic tasks for helping you to have a good start of your learning journey at HKBU.

1. Know your goals

Ask yourself. What are your values and priorities for being a university student? If you have a good understanding of your goals, you can make better planning on how to balance your time on studying, social life and other extra-curricular activities.
2. Know the requirements

Different programmes have different requirements, and so do different universities. Get a clear understanding of the requirements of both HKBU and the programme you study, so that you can plan ahead what courses to take in each semester.
3. Know your responsibility

To do well academically in university, you need to have sufficient self-discipline and be proactive in your studying. Using a daily planner can be helpful to prioritise and schedule your tasks. Also, spare time for preparing the lectures and doing the readings so that you can master the subjects more effectively. With better planning and time management, you can have a satisfying learning experience.
4. Know your support system

You can form self-study groups with your classmates so as to get better insights and support during your learning journey. You can also talk to senior students or peer mentors for learning tips. Do seek advice from your tutors or professors if you encounter difficulties on your study. You can always email them your concerns and arrange a meeting with them.
5. Know your resources

There are plenty of resources available in HKBU, which you can utilize them for enriching your learning. For example, familiarise with the library services for doing better research; familiarise with the University’s facilities for creating a good study environment; explore courses at our Language Centre for improving your English and Chinese; meet your Academic Mentor for seeking advice; or make an appointment with a Psychological Counsellor for learning better study skills.

In addition, below are some useful reference materials available online for helping you to study in a more effective way:

  1. Study and Examination Skills
    I Know The Material, But When I Take The Test I Go Blank! – Kansas State University
    Study Strategies – Kansas State University
  2. Note taking
    Note-taking – Darmouth College
    Taking Lecture Notes – University of Illinois at Chicago
  3. Concentration
    Concentration – University of Illinois at Chicago
    Improving Your Concentration – Kansas State University